Introducing…The Covert Series!

Covert Assignment ebook cover

“Life is a journey, not a destination.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

As people read Advanced Reader Copies (ARCs) of Covert Assignment, I’m getting a lot of questions about what, exactly, the series is, so I thought I’d sneak out of my writing cave to explain a little more about the series.

When I first heard about the New Adult category, I can’t tell you how excited I was. New adulthood is that period of time (roughly ages 18-25) when you finally get that first taste of independence. If you go away to college, no one is telling you when you have to be home, when you can go out, when to eat, etc. Getting that first job after college (or right out of high school) let’s you know real quick you’re not a student anymore. That’s a time period of great transition, and I was eager to write about it. You can learn more about the New Adult category at the fantastic NA Alley.

So take the idea of writing about the new adult period in life, add in my love of the TV shows Alias and Covert Affairs, and I came up with the Covert Series. The Covert Series is about Elle and her experience making that transition from student life into adulthood.

  • The first book, Covert Assignment, is about Elle preparing to leave college, eager to become a “full-fledged” adult, with a plan for a fulfilling professional and personal life. That plan is destroyed when she arrives for her final semester of college, however.
  • The second book in the series, Covert Interview, is about Elle dealing with her first job (which, for her, happens to be the CIA) and dealing with the realities of “a fling” with hot agent Preston Raddick. She learns about making a commitment and manages to do so, but working for the CIA has a personal cost.
  • The third book in the series, tentatively titled Cover Cracked, is about Elle dealing with ramifications of being in the CIA and the toll it takes on her ability to have a meaningful personal relationship. She thinks she has it covered but learns otherwise. Luckily, she’s smart enough to figure out what’s wrong. Then she just needs to develop the courage to make it right.

Now I know the most popular genre in New Adult is romance. And there is romance in these books (it’s a key part of being an adult, right?). Elle does get her HEA- in the third book. That’s because, as I see it, the most challenging part of becoming an adult is learning to deal with all the unexpected things that come your way once you’re no longer at home or in the college “cocoon.” That’s why I also think of the Covert Series as a coming of age series.

Check back here: I’ll be talking more about the Covert Series as their publication date (early December 2013) draws near. If you want to hear about when they release, feel free to sign up for my Mailing List. I won’t share or sell this list with anyone, and I will only send an email out to announce a new release (I know we all get more than enough email as it is).

I hope you’ll like getting to know Elle!


2 thoughts on “Introducing…The Covert Series!

  1. Pingback: Covert Assignment (Covert #1) – Missy Marciassa | Penny Dreadful Books and Reviews

  2. Pingback: Tour Stop: Covert Assignment by Missy Marciassa | Why I Can't stop Reading

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s